Tags

, , , ,

There was a time when I went through a spooky book phase. One that kind of stuck with me, although not with tons of details so forgive if I get anything wrong, is Dean Koontz’s “Twilight Eyes.” This is the teaser:

9780425218648“Slim MacKenzie is no ordinary man. With eyes the color of twilight, he’s been blessed with a psychic gift: premonitions. He’s also been cursed, for Slim can see the monsters hiding among us, feeding on our suffering…”

What I recall about the story is that there are these monsters, all over the place, who take human form and they individually and collectively get off on human pain, suffering, loss and death. So if a disaster happens, they would gather around to watch it. Not content to be passive spectators, these monsters cause disasters, too.

 

Crazy fiction, right?

Except, you all see what’s going on in the USA lately? Makes me wonder.