Have you ever been really afraid? Have you ever experienced terror?

Not too long ago in the city of Red Deer, Alberta, something incredible happened.  There were these new stores opening around town. In these stores you were able rent movies that had been in the theatre just a few years before.  No more waiting for years for the random chance your favourite movie would come out on TV all loaded with commercials. You could go to one of these “video stores” and not only rent 10 movies for only $100 you could also rent the 50 pound machine needed to watch them.

The first weekend we made this discovery we rented all sorts of movies but most of them were horror movies – Friday the 13th, Halloween, The Howling….  I had bad dreams for months after that. When I watched spooky movies I had two methods. One was with a blanket right up to my eyes.  The other way was I would work on something else and just look up occasionally to get the plot points and then looking away at the gross stuff.

Now, I’m not a horror movie fan for two reasons.

First, as a Christ Follower I can’t reconcile the way of Christ with gruesome murder entertainment.  Secondly, I don’t need to watch horror mopexels-photovies because I have raised three teenagers.  Can I get an amen?

Talk about terror! You want your kids to be okay but you watch them and you want to
yell: Don’t go in there! That’s a trap! Look out behind you!  And this is just the stuff we can see when we are around.

Fortunately, we all survived but to this day I’m still gripped by terror when I see their bedroom door slightly opened. I have to say to myself, “Don’t go in there!”