This is a powerful post for anyone that is in a recovery journey. Be kind and compassionate with yourself; love yourself enough to continue one day at a time.

Just Ruminating

recovery on justruminating men's blog

Ok, so I haven’t written about my sobriety or recovery in a little while.  I will tell you I am strong and healthy in it.  I am doing well.  However, I am noticing a disturbing trend:  many of our fellow writers are tormented with recovery “shoulds,” and rules that are really myths.  So I’d like to share my own two cents on this.

First of all, I am not sure counting recovery days is a sound practice.  But I do see it’s value for many people.  What I don’t think is healthy is folks who feel as though they must reset their sobriety date because of a slip; a perceived relapse.  Also, get rid of should haves, would haves, could haves; they are all self-defeating and serve no purpose in your long-term recovery plans.

ONLY I CAN PREVENT MY RELAPSE–NO OTHER PERSON, PLACE OR THING CAN

A slip is just that: …

View original post 341 more words