Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Many times, I have conversations on the topic of salvation. My focus is always on God’s incredible love and grace that he demonstrated definitively at the cross.

At some point, someone will say, “God’s grace provided salvation but in order to be saved, we need to accept it.”A variation on this is when someone says, “You have to trust in Jesus to be saved.” Or “We are saved by faith and not works.”

To me, what I see the bible saying over and over, is that there is an infinitely important distinction between salvation by grace and any other statement made about having faith, trust, or belief.

To illustrate what I mean, please  consider the following two sentences and ask yourself which one brings you the greatest level of peace:

I have salvation because I have accepted God’s love and grace.

God has saved me because of his love and grace and I accept that.