In the early stages of our relationship, one of my ex-girlfriends used to say about our dates, “I’ll pencil you into my calendar.”  It was kind of a running gag that I laughed about but I am confessing now that I was glad when it stopped (I think the first step was she switched to saying she would use a pen). Don’t get me wrong, we had a good relationship. It’s just that the joke had an underlying sense that what we had was fleeting; temporary until she got a better offer.

This is one of the reasons that God’s divine date day speaks to the deepest part of me.  Long before I knew him of even wanted him around, he said that I was so important to him that he would write down a weekly date with me. The best part is that he didn’t write it with pencil or even pen but his own finger in stone.  Isn’t that an amazing commitment?