In my last post, Danger Zone, I stated that the church can be a dangerous place for God’s followers. While it can be a place of loving fellowship, worship and service, it’s also a place where you can find religion.  Religion breeds self-righteousness and left unchecked creates harsh, judgmental, and destructive people.

There is a cure for self-righteousness.

In Mark’s gospel, chapter 8, verses 34-37, right after Jesus explains that the danger zone for him is among religious people, he shares the cure: “Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead. You’re not in the driver’s seat; I am. Don’t run from suffering; embrace it. Follow me and I’ll show you how. Self-help is no help at all. Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to saving yourself, your true self. What good would it do to get everything you want and lose you, the real you? What could you ever trade your soul for?

The cure is simple. The cure is the hardest thing you will ever do. The cure is letting God lead your life, coming to the point where you can say with deepest love, “Not my will LORD, but yours.”