Prostate cancer is the most common cancer among Canadian men – it will afflict 1 in 6 men and is a greater threat for those with a family history of the disease. It’s going to be diagnosed in about 24,600 men this year, not including cases that go undiagnosed due to men’s unwillingness to go for annual check-ups.

I believe we need to raise awareness of this issue. After studying methods used by other cancer awareness groups, I believe these steps are sure to get results and make a difference.

1. Men should write posts on Facebook only to other men. It’s important that we don’t include 50% of the population. We don’t want them to come on side or partner with us, instead we want them to be in the dark, guessing, and misdirected.

2. The best way to raise awareness about one thing is to get people thinking about something entirely different. We will only use double entendre to raise awareness. This is funny even if it is unclear and unrelated to our message.

For example, we will start by posting on Facebook about how we like to carry our cell phones except we will use the word “it” for cell phone. A few suggestions are:
a) I like it on my belt.
b) I like it in my jacket pocket.
c) I like it in a case that I sometimes hook on my belt or put in my briefcase.

These obviously risque statements get people thinking about one thing (yes, *that* thing) when we are actually talking about our cell phone. These posts will generate a great deal of confusion, inane posts, and many more double entendres.

All of this will certainly increase awareness of prostate cancer and the need for men to get tested on a regular basis.

We have the technology to beat this cancer. We must stay focused on being unclear and on misdirection. And men, don’t forget to NOT get a check up – being unclear starts with you!